President Appoints NEW Ministers


President Mugabe has appointed 14 new ministers, who are expected to take the oath of office at a ceremony to be held at State House in Harare today, Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda, said last night. A number of ministerial portfolios fell vacant following the demise and reassignment of some ministers as well as the dismissal of those linked to the putschist cabal linked to former Vice President Dr Joice Mujuru, who has since unveiled herself as an opposition politician. The Information, Media and Broadcasting Services Ministry is vacant after Professor Jonathan Moyo was reassigned to the Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development. Labour and Social Services Minister Prisca Mupfumira is the acting minister.

Environment, Water and Climate Deputy Minister Kundai Musanhu passed on in January, leaving the post vacant. The Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development’s post was left vacant following the sacking of Petronella Kagonye. The Ministry of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Deputy Minister Fortune Chasi was also fired, while the Local Government, Public Works and National Housing Deputy Minister’s post is vacant following the reassignment of Cde Joel Biggie Matiza initially to be the Minister of State for Mashonaland East Provincial Affairs before he assumed the chairmanship of the Province.

Deputy Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture Tabetha Kanengoni was promoted to the Office of Vice President Phelekezela Mphoko as Minister of State. In a statement, Dr Sibanda said the legislators were to report at State House for the swearing-in ceremony at 10am. “The Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Dr M.J.M Sibanda, is inviting the following persons to report at State House tomorrow (today) morning, Friday 11 September, 2015 at 10am for a swearing in ceremony following their appointments to various Ministerial portfolios by his Excellency the President, Cde R.G Mugabe,” reads the statement.

The ministers will be appraised of their new portfolios at State House today.

Those set to be sworn-in today are:

  • Hon Joram Mcdonald Gumbo,
  • Hon Abednigo Ncube
  • Hon Makhosini Hlongwane,
  • Hon Edgar Mbwembwe,
  • Hon Obedingwa Mguni,
  • Hon Berita Chikwama,
  • Hon Christopher Peter Chingosho,
  • Hon Michael Madanha,
  • Hon Aldrin Musiiwa,
  • Hon Thokozile Angela Mathuthu,
  • Hon Tshinga Judge Dube,
  • Hon Annastasia Ndhlovu and
  • Hon Tapiwanashe Majaya Matangaidze.
  • Cde Zhuwao is a former Deputy Minister of Science and Technology, renowned businessman and farmer.

Cde Ncube is Provincial Minister of State for Matabeleland South while Cde Gumbo is a member of the Pan – African Parliament, Mberengwa West legislator and Zanu-PF chief whip. Cde Hlongwane is the Mberengwa East National Assembly member while Cde Mbwembwe is Chikomba East MP.

Cde Mguni is the legislator for Mangwe while Cde Chikwama is Gutu East Member of Parliament and also chairs the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare. Cde Chingosho is the Headlands legislator while Cde Madanha is the Wedza South National Assembly member.

Cde Musiiwa is the legislator for Chakari while Cde Mathuthu is a politburo member and former Governor for Matabeleland North province. Retired Colonel Dube is a Politburo member and Makokoba legislator, while Cde Ndlovu is Environment, Water, Tourism and Hospitality Industry parliamentary portfolio committee chairperson.



Cde Matangaidze is a Member of Parliament for Shurugwi South. In December last year President Mugabe appointed Comrades Emmerson Mnangagwa and Phelekezela Mphoko as Vice Presidents of the Republic of Zimbabwe and reshuffled his Cabinet to replace former Vice President Joice Mujuru, seven ministers and a deputy who were fired for expending their time on graft, factional politics within the governing Zanu-PF and undermining, seeking to depose and/or assassinate the President.